In bookstores

Our storms are as big as our dreams 

Paraplegic following a surgical accident in 2014, Nadalette La Fonta has fought to reclaim her life. She has turned her resilient experience into a source of inspiration, including through the TEDx talk Nothing Happens to Us by Chance: two million views on YouTube.

In this book, which she considers "a manifesto for not dying", Nadalette blasts the beliefs that make us forget to live, and die without having lived. She shares with us, in no uncertain terms, confidences about her childhood, her brilliant career, trials, illusions, the invisible handicap, mourning and death... With an incisive and moving writing style, she invites us to accept our mistakes and failures as a source of knowledge of ourselves and our potential and to discover our forgotten dreams, the unexpected and the incredible in our lives.

So many stories and invitations to be that sow, throughout the pages, small white pebbles to light our own way.

Screenshot (76)

Our storms are as big as our dreams

Reader feedback 

Helene

Second time that I take back this book, I had a long pause, I like to digest it. It lists all my life analysis, which I have been dissecting for 10 years in order to understand, to heal, to evaluate, to soothe all the stages that have brought me down very often. I understand so much of his journey and reassure me of my own conclusions. I feel her anger, her determination as a woman who wants to have her place in society, her constant struggle. And one day, this necessary calm after having fought body and soul, this return to oneself to be at peace with oneself and one's family. I haven't finished it yet, but I feel this enVIE that she likes more and more and that I want to find again. A book to be read to take stock of one's life and also to be recommended to young people to make them want to respect and love themselves in order to start a life with enthusiasm and gentleness.

Erwan

I read "Our storms are the height of our dreams" a few weeks ago. I was hooked by the title and was not disappointed by the content. It was like listening to a story that was both tragic and beautiful. Each time I closed the book I realized that I was not completely out of this life narrated by Nadalette La Fonta and that I was then led to think about my own existence, as if by a reflection game. I recommend this "manifesto" to all those who are in search of authenticity, introspection and a certain quest to deconstruct one's own beliefs, to dive into what is for me, one of the best books of this fall.

Sergyl

The goal is not the goal, it is the way. Lao-Tzu Carried away by the waves of our stormy lives, are we forever destined to a poor and dull survival? Are we going to "die" without having really lived, to finally die in peace, one day? In the depths of our troubled hearts, our intimate dreams seem unattainable and remain confined to a utopian imagination... Yet we move forward nostalgically, and drag this pain endlessly throughout our earthly pilgrimage, like the walker in Schubert's "Winter Journey". Nadalette La Fonta, in her remarkable book: "Nos tempêtes sont à la hauteur de nos rêves" (Our storms are as high as our dreams), which has just been published by Editions Guy Trédaniel, offers us the testimony of her own very singular struggle along her steep and rough path, marked, among other things, by a dramatic post-operative paraplegia, to help us get out of our ruts by giving us the courage to face our own contradictions. The touching sincerity of the author's reflections wins our conviction by irresistibly gaining our confidence: YES, this hard fight is the way to be reborn to a new life where our wildest dreams can become accessible. The path is there: by facing our storms, our fears become revelations and guide our walk to the height of our dreams. Let's walk this rough path with confidence, guided by the vibrant and sincere prose of Nadalette La Fonta. The text of this book, a precious bedside book, "to do" much more than to read, is filled with small pebbles that awaken us to life; let us take the time to stop as often as necessary along the path of the sentences, to pick up the words that echo in our heart, and, with our pockets thus filled with courage and hope, let us move forward with confidence to meet our life. Sergyl Lafont .

Fabien

Sometimes life has beautiful surprises in store for us after terrible trials. What a beautiful story, what a beautiful lesson of life! A must read

Peggy

Good morning madam. I am in the Parisian subway. I started a therapy a month ago because of recurring body aches! What this book speaks to me. It accompanies me in this subway. I take 2 seconds to tell you thank you for this writing. I am on page 154 which speaks to me the most. This famous Christmas 2013. Thank you madam!!! I get out of the metroA must read

An Anthology of Women who persevere mightily to live their purpose!

My first short story "Fate, not a threat, an opportunity" is finally published in English in an anthology curated by Alise Cortez and published by Soop in the United States.

A roller coaster of emotions would be the perfect words to describe Passionately Striving in Why, a book that contains the most honest and powerful testimonies of 25 women from around the world. This book is an open invitation to reflect and engage in a spiritual journey of self-discovery.

You can order it on Amazon
And don't forget to share your book review on social media sites and networks.
 
I thank you for this
cover

The Penching Reed 

A wonderful operation

Nadalette La Fonta Six recounts the failed operation that left her a paraplegic. An edifying testimony on medicine and the world of the hospital, but also the story of a redemption. That of a woman who decided to take her life in hand. (...)
All this in 180 pages written with a scalpel, an uncompromising account of a terrible personal ordeal that is also a meditation - on freedom, femininity, blood ties and so many other things. A dive into the darkest depths of life.
And finally, it is a tale of redemption, of a woman who rises again thanks to her will, to the love she carries within her, and of course, thanks to her writing. Because her book is both a sharing and a therapy.

Excerpt from the article by Anne-Marie Rocco,

great reporter for Challenges magazine

book

Waking up paraplegic after a simple back operation

Waking up paraplegic after a simple back operation. Finding herself trapped in a hospital bed for months on end. Enduring infantilisation, bemoaning the loss of autonomy... This is how Nadalette La Fonta Six's life has gone since her spinal cord was damaged during an operation to correct severe scoliosis.

Therapeutic hazard or bad luck? The answer remains vague. What remains is the irreversible damage. And one certainty: life will never be the same again. So how do we deal with
disability? How to overcome fear and pain? How to overcome grief and anger? How to avoid a family explosion?
Although when reading her story, one cannot help but identify with it - "if it had happened to me" - the author does not claim to provide a universal answer. Her testimony is above all a subjective cry carried by a singular writing - sometimes poetic, sometimes brutal and raw. And it is without ever losing her sense of humor that she suggests ways to achieve a form of resilience.
Living proof that after a fight, rebirth is possible: three years later, despite a seriously damaged autonomy, she has found a smile and the courage to testify.

The Penching Reed 

Reader reviews 

Sergyl Lafont

A moving book by. Nadalette La Fonta-Six 🤗🤗🤗: how to cope with adversity, when paraplegia occurs following surgery...

Juliette Savaete

I had the chance to share with her precious and rare moments and I would like to express here all my affection and admiration for this beautiful, strong, determined and courageous woman who, after a terrible accident in life...

Benoit Perreau

You have given me a wonderful gift by offering me your book, a piece of you, of your sufferings...

Muriel Griveaud

To all those who are concerned about the other, who are looking for inspiration, a breath of fresh air and a beautiful lesson in life without procrastination but with the joy of living, read this book...

Françoise Laurent

Good evening. I have just finished reading your book and discovered your story. I am in awe of the path you have taken and I can only bow to your determination. A reed that bends but remains flexible and resists the assaults of daily life. This reconstruction, this rebirth, this resurrection was not built in a day but what satisfaction you must have towards you-love! What an example of courage for you, your relatives, friends, readers...! What intense emotions when reading about your daughter's 20th birthday when you found her by surprise! The tears streaming down my face when your friends collapsed in their car on the way back from your birthday! So, I could go on and on with my praise of what your life is all about. A woman of courage, a woman with all her strengths and determinations. A normal woman with her despairs and her hopes. Thank you for this precious moment shared in your company. Sergyl was right to praise your journey. He knows where to find the right thing in life. We are all connected to each other. Together, members of one body. The one palliating the one who suffers. The other supporting the one who is suffering. Thank you for what you are. Beautiful road to you !💐

Nadalette la FONTA

 "Until our last day, and perhaps even after, nothing happens to us that we do not know how to transform, transmute."

Since 1996, I have held responsibilities at IBM Europe in Communication, Marketing, then Talent Management in France and internationally. Paraplegic following an operation that damaged my spinal cord in 2014, I am fighting to get my life back in hand and, by writing Le roseau penchant, histoire d'une merveilleuse opération (Fauves)... 

Book Signings 

THE GENERAL BOOKSHOP OF ARCACHON

CULTURA LA TESTE

THE BOOKSHOP OF THE UNKNOWN

CALLIGRAMME BOOKSTORE 

NEW PRODUCTS

BOOK FAIR OF THE ISLAND OF RE

Interview by Elisabeth Chavelet

CULTURAL CENTER OF THE MEDIATHEQUE OF LAGORD

NEW PRODUCTS

En librairie

Nos tempêtes sont à la hauteur de nos rêves 

Paraplégique à la suite d’un accident opératoire en 2014, Nadalette La Fonta s’est battue pour reprendre sa vie en main. Elle a fait de son expérience résiliente une source d’inspiration, notamment à travers la conférence TEDx Rien ne nous arrive par hasard : deux millions de vues sur YouTube.

Dans cet ouvrage, qu’elle considère comme « un manifeste pour ne pas crever », Nadalette dynamite les croyances qui nous font oublier de vivre, et mourir sans avoir vécu. Elle nous livre, sans détours, des confidences sur son enfance, sa brillante carrière, les épreuves, les illusions, le handicap invisible, le deuil et la mort… Avec une écriture incisive et bouleversante, elle nous invite à accepter nos erreurs et nos défaites comme source de connaissance de nous-même et de notre potentiel et à la découverte de nos rêves oubliés, de l’inattendu et de l’incroyable dans notre vie.

Autant de récits et d’invitations à être qui sèment, au fil des pages, des petits cailloux blancs pour éclairer notre propre chemin.

Capture d’écran (76)

Nos tempêtes sont à la hauteur de nos rêves

Retours de lecteurs 

Helene

Deuxième fois que je reprends ce livre, j’ai fait une longue pause, j’aime le digérer. Il répertorie l’ensemble de mon analyse de vie, que je décortique depuis 10 ans pour comprendre, pour soigner, pour évaluer, pour apaiser toutes les étapes qui m’ont mise à terre très souvent. Je comprends tellement tout son cheminement et me rassure sur mes propres conclusions. Je ressens sa hargne, sa colère, sa détermination en tant que femme qui veut avoir sa place dans la société, son combat de tous les instants. Et un jour, ce calme nécessaire après s’être battue corps et âme, ce retour à soi pour être en paix avec soi et les siens. Je ne l’ai pas fini encore mais je sens, cette enVIE qu’elle affectionne de plus en plus et que je veux retrouver. Un livre à lire pour faire un bilan de sa vie et aussi à recommander aux jeunes pour faire germer l’envie de se respecter et de s’aimer pour entamer une vie avec niaque et douceur.

Erwan

J’ai lu “Nos tempêtes sont à la hauteur de nos rêves” il y a de ça quelques semaines. Le titre m’avait accroché et je n’ai pas été déçu par le contenu. C’était comme écouter une histoire à la fois tragique et belle. A chaque fois que je fermais le livre je réalisais que je ne sortais pas complètement de cette vie narrée par Nadalette La Fonta et que j’étais ensuite amené à penser à ma propre existence, comme par un jeu de réflexion. Je conseille ce “manifeste” à toutes celles et ceux qui sont en quête d’authenticité, d’introspection et d’une certaine quête de déconstruction de ses propres croyances, de se plonger dans ce qui est pour moi, l’un des meilleurs livres de cette rentrée.

Sergyl

Le but n’est pas le but, c’est la voie. Lao-Tseu Emporté par les vagues de nos existences tempétueuses, sommes-nous à jamais destiné à une survie pauvre et terne ? Allons-nous « crever » sans avoir véritablement vécu, pour enfin mourir en paix, un jour ? Au plus intime de nos cœurs troublés, nos rêves intimes nous semblent inatteignables et demeurent cantonnés dans un imaginaire utopique…Pourtant, nous avançons nostalgiques, et trainons sempiternellement cette douleur tout au long de notre pèlerinage terrestre, tel le marcheur du « voyage d’hiver » de Schubert. Nadalette La Fonta, dans son remarquable ouvrage : « Nos tempêtes sont à la hauteur de nos rêves »,qui vient de paraître aux Editions Guy Trédaniel nous offre le témoignage de son propre et très singulier combat tout au long de son chemin escarpé et rude marqué, entre autres, par une dramatique paraplégie pos t– opératoire, pour nous aider à sortir de nos ornières en nous donnant le courage d’affronter nos propres contradictions. La touchante sincérité des réflexions de l’auteure emporte notre conviction en gagnant irrésistiblement notre confiance : OUI, ce rude combat est la voie pour renaître à une nouvelle #vie ou nos rêves les plus fous peuvent devenir accessibles. Le chemin est bien là : en affrontant nos tempêtes, nos peurs se font révélations et guident notre marche jusqu’ à la hauteur de nos rêves. Arpentons en toute confiance ce sentier rugueux en nous laissant guider par la prose vibrante et sincère de Nadalette La Fonta . Le texte de ce livre, précieux livre de chevet, « à faire » bien plus qu’à lire, est remplie de petits cailloux qui nous éveillent à la vie ; prenons le temps de nous arrêter aussi souvent que nécessaire en bordure du cheminement des phrases, pour cueillir les mots qui font écho dans notre cœur, et, les poches ainsi remplies de courage et d’Espérance, avançons en toute confiance à la rencontre de notre vie. Sergyl Lafont .

Fabien

Parfois la vie nous réserve de belles surprises après des épreuves terribles. Quelle belle histoire, quelle belle leçon de vie ! A lire absolument

Peggy

Bonjour madame. Je suis dans le métro parisien . J’aî commence une thérapie il y a un mois suite à des maux du corps récurant !!! Qu’est ce que ce livre me parle. Il m’accompagne dans ce métro. Je prends 2 sec pour vous dire merci pour cet écrit. Je suis à la page 154 qui me parle le plus. Ce fameux noël 2013. Merci madame !!! Je sors du métroA lire absolument

An Anthology of Women who persevere mightily to live their purpose!

Ma première nouvelle ” Fate, not a threat, an opportunity ” est enfin publiée en anglais dans une anthologie sous l’égide d’Alise Cortez par Soop aux Etats-unis. 

Une montagne russe d’émotions seraient les mots parfaits pour décrire Passionately Striving in Why, un ouvrage qui contient les témoignages les plus honnêtes et les plus puissants de 25 femmes du monde entier. Ce livre est une invitation ouverte à réfléchir et à s’engager dans un voyage spirituel vers la découverte de soi.

Vous pouvez le commander sur Amazon
Et n’oubliez pas de partager votre revue de lecture sur les sites et les réseaux sociaux.
 
Je vous en remercie
cover

Le Roseau Penchant 

Une merveilleuse opération

Nadalette La Fonta Six raconte l’opération ratée qui l’a rendue paraplégique. Un témoignage édifiant sur la médecine et le monde de l’hôpital, mais aussi le récit d’une rédemption. Celle d’une femme qui a décidé de reprendre sa vie en main. (…)
Le tout en 180 pages écrites au scalpel, récit sans concession d’une terrible épreuve personnelle qui est aussi une méditation – sur la liberté, la féminité, les liens du sang et tant d’autres choses. Une plongée dans les profondeurs les plus obscures de la vie.
Et finalement, le récit d’une rédemption, celle d’une femme qui se relève grâce à sa volonté, à l’amour qu’elle porte en elle et bien sûr, grâce à l’écriture. Puisque son livre est à la fois un partage et une thérapie. »

Extrait de l’article d’Anne-Marie Rocco,

grand reporter du magazine Challenges

livre

Se réveiller paraplégique après une banale opération du dos

Se réveiller paraplégique après une banale opération du dos. Se retrouver prisonnière des mois durant d’un lit d’hôpital. Endurer l’infantilisation, déplorer la perte d’autonomie… Ainsi va la vie de Nadalette La Fonta Six, depuis que, lors d’une intervention visant à corriger une sévère scoliose, sa moelle épinière est endommagée.

Aléa thérapeutique ou faute à pas de chance ? La réponse demeure vague. Restent les dommages, irréversibles. Et une certitude : la vie ne sera plus jamais comme avant. Dès lors, comment appréhender
le handicap ? Commenter surmonter la peur et la douleur ? Venir à bout du chagrin, de la colère ? Se prémunir de l’explosion familiale ?
Bien qu’à la lecture de son récit on ne puisse s’empêcher de s’identifier – « si ça m’était arrivé, à moi » -, l’auteure ne prétend pas apporter de réponse universelle. Son témoignage est avant tout un cri subjectif porté par une écriture singulière – tantôt poétique, tantôt brutale et crue. Et c’est sans jamais perdre de son humour qu’elle propose des pistes pour parvenir à une forme de résilience.
Preuve vivante qu’à l’issue du combat, la renaissance est possible : trois ans après, en dépit d’une autonomie sérieusement entamée, elle a retrouvé le sourire et trouvé le courage de témoigner.

Le Roseau Penchant 

Critiques de lecteurs 

Sergyl Lafont

Un ouvrage bouleversant de Nadalette La Fonta-Six 🤗🤗🤗: comment faire face à l’adversité, quand une paraplégie survient suite à une intervention chirurgicale…

Juliette Savaete

J’ai eu la chance de partager avec elle des moments précieux et rares et je voudrais dire ici toute mon affection et mon admiration pour cette belle femme forte, déterminée et courageuse qui après un terrible accident de la vie…

Benoit Perreau

Tu m’as fait un Cadeau merveilleux en m’offrant ton livre, un morceau de toi, de tes souffrances …

Muriel Griveaud

A toutes celles et ceux qui se sentent concernés par l’autre, qui cherchent une inspiration, une respiration et une belle leçon de vie sans atermoiements mais dans la joie de vivre, lisez ce livre …

Françoise Laurent

Bonsoir. Je viens à l’instant de finir de lire votre livre, de découvrir votre histoire. Admirative de votre chemin parcouru, je ne peux que m’incliner face à votre détermination. Un roseau qui se plie mais qui reste souple et résiste aux assauts du quotidien. Cette reconstruction, cette renaissance, cette résurrection ne se sont pas construites en un jour mais quelle satisfaction vous devez avoir envers vous-m’aime! Quel exemple de courage pour vous, vos proches, amis, lecteurs…! Que d’émotions intenses à la lecture des 20 ans de votre fille lorsque vous l’avez retrouvée par surprise! Les larmes coulant sur mon visage lorsque vos amies se sont effondrées dans leur voiture au retour de votre anniversaire ! Ainsi, je pourrais continuer mes éloges sur ce qu’est votre existence. Femme courage, femme tout simplement avec ses forces et ses déterminations. Femme normale avec ses désespoirs et ses espoirs. Merci à vous pour ce moment précieux partagé en votre compagnie. Sergyl avait raison de vanter votre parcours. Il sait où trouver le juste de la Vie. Nous sommes tous reliés les uns aux autres. Ensemble, membre dun seul corps. L’un palliant à celui qui souffre. L’autre soutenant celui qui peine. Merci à vous pour ce que vous êtes. Belle route à vous !💐

Nadalette la FONTA

 « Jusqu’à notre dernier jour, et même peut-être après, rien ne nous arrive que nous ne sachions transformer, transmuter. »

Depuis 1996, j’ai occupé chez IBM Europe des responsabilités de Communication, de Marketing, puis de Talent Management à la France et à l’international. Paraplégique à la suite d’une opération qui a lésée ma moelle épinière en 2014, je me bats s’est pour reprendre ma vie en main et, en écrivant Le roseau penchant, histoire d’une merveilleuse opération (Fauves)… 

Signatures de livres 

LA LIBRAIRIE GÉNÉRALE D’ARCACHON

CULTURA LA TESTE

LA LIBRAIRIE DE L’INCONNU

LIBRAIRIE CALLIGRAMME 

LES NOUVEAUTÉS

SALON DU LIVRE DE L’ÎLE DE RÉ

Interview par Elisabeth Chavelet

CENTRE CULTUREL DE LA MÉDIATHÉQUE DE LAGORD

LES NOUVEAUTÉS